Homesick and Confused!

Guest skoobzz

Hi everyone!

Thought I'd post a comment in the hope of getting some advice! I've lived in Oz for 11 years and up until early last year, I'd never been homesick and wouldn't have considered moving home if you paid me!

But alas, times change and for the past 18 months, all I have thought about is moving back home to be with my family and friends. My Dad is nearly 70 and I dread the early morning 'death call' from my brother telling me something has happened to him. I've also reached that age where all my friends have paired up and I don't seem to have a life anymore. :sad:

Problem is that I absolutely LOVE Australia! I also have a good job which I studied hard for which doesn't exist in the UK and the qualification requirements are different for the other roles I've done. I'm currently studying another Masters degree so if I move home, I'll be able to work in a related field but it will be a couple of years til I finish the program (although I could finish it in the UK).

I guess, I am lonely and I think if had friends to go out with in the UK, I might actually have a chance of meeting a guy!! I also want to have a proper relationship with my Dad before it's too late.

I'm scared of everything related to moving back - the cost of moving myself and 6 pets, what to take, what not to take, where to live, how to find a house to rent, how to find a job and most of all.... what if I hate it and can't afford to come back to Oz?!!

Everyone in England thinks I am mad to want to go back and everyone in Oz is telling me to go home because they can see I am unhappy.

But is the grass really greener? Is the lure of my family and friends enough to make up for England's shortcomings?

I went home last year for 6 weeks and almost stayed and since then it's been a daily battle to stop feeling the non-stop, gut wrenching homesickness!

So, if any of you have any thoughts on my situation I'd be very grateful to hear them.

Thanks in advance!