Cost of TV's

Guest Ryan T. Lion

Guest Ryan T. Lion

Hi all

I understand electronic goods etc in Adelaide are more expensive than the UK..... Our HUGE (in a bad way) old Sony CRT "whistler" is still going strong, but it pains me to ship something so colossal when plasma/LCD's are so cheap these days.

This Sony thing of ours...... it's just........ huge. All for a cr*ppy little 28" screen.

Anyway, 2 mins on the Argos website found me this, and Argos isn't majorly cheap:

http://www.argos.co.uk/ProductDisplayTRK019?partNumber=5295889

which looks pretty sweet to me. It works out about what, $500 for a new 42" Hitachi?

Any gadget lovers on here want to let me know if it's really worth buying now - and shipping it? Is all this "it's sooooo expensive over here" type chat a bit exaggerated?

Cheers!

Ryan :goofy:

Guest Trakki

I am no expert on the cost of tvs but JB HIFI had 50 inch plasma for $695 the other day. We got our 42 inch plasma (sanyo) for $600 last year. I would say wait until you get here to get one as yours may not work properly when you get here. Normal bog standard UK tvs need a set top box for them to work here. Someone else will probably be able to give you some more technical info than me.

Guest rich

Wait til you are here. It's not worth stressing while it's in the shipment over whether it'll break or not...

It's not that expensive here - it's just swings and roundabouts i guess...

Guest Mitchell

I got a big flat screen with built in set top box, lot of connections and extras but some weird make (changhong?) and I paid $250 at Harvey Norman a few months ago.

Anyway, 2 mins on the Argos website found me this, and Argos isn't majorly cheap:

http://www.argos.co.uk/ProductDisplayTRK019?partNumber=5295889

which looks pretty sweet to me. It works out about what, $500 for a new 42" Hitachi?