ambulance bill $814 only here 2 weeks

Guest Sion

Hi please help,

we went to melbourne the 2nd week we arrived for a little holiday (we are on PM visa) my 20 month old daughter had a fit so she was taken to hospital by ambulance we had a bill today for $814 we had no idea we had to pay for ambulance service (one thing we did not look into).

Do we have to pay ? what can we do it looks like medicare doesnt cover the cost and you needed seperate cover (feel really stupid not knowing this).

any advice would be great the, hospital was only 2km down the road but we had no idea as we had only been in melbourne for about 6 hours when it happened.

Cheers

Sion

Hi Sion.

Really sorry to hear about your daughter, hope she is on the mend now.

I'm really not an expert on this as not there yet but as far as i understand you need to have private medical insurance to cover ambulance call outs, otherwise you get the bill.

There will be plenty on here who will be able to advise you more appropriately.

Your not stupid, its an easy mistake to make. Just terrible that you had to find out the hard way.

Guest Libby1971

Sorry but I think you do have to pay.

I think it costs about $100 to get ambulance cover from the Post Office for a family. The details may change according to how many are in the family.

How is your little one now?

Hi there I am afraid that you will probably have to pay it. We were warned quite soon after we arrived to take out ambulance cover - we use SA ambulance initially but now have private health insurance which has ambulance cover included. Cover for the family (just ambulance cover) was $115 for the year. We have never had to use it (thankfully) but now know that we woudn't need to worry about bills should the need arise.

Hope that your little one is ok now

Lindsey

Hi

Hope your little one is okay. Exactly the same thing happened to us. We had only been here 3 months when my son had a fit. We were at a friends 40th birthday party in Hallett Cove...