Bringing Electrical items with you

Guest countdown1975

Guest countdown1975

Hi all,

Has anyone else brought electrical items with them - ie Tvs, dvds and hi-fis? I read somewhere that you would need to get them professionally changed over for the electricity supply in Oz. Does anyone have any ideas how much this would cost?

Thanks Vicki:jiggy:

or just bring a load of adaptors with you , make sure they are oz ones. I sent my hubster to asda for a load and didnt realise when we got here they are continental europe ones. Cheap as chips sell them for $6 a throw or just change the plug yourself , but i prefer the adapters as aus plus arent fused.

(disclaimer im not an electrician just my opinion as someone who can change a plug herself)

I brought with me my UK surge tower thingy for all the computer equipment. I wanted to plug in my phone (wireless) to use on the same desk. As I'm in a rental I couldn't change the single socket to and double so I got small aussie extention lead and cut off the plug and put on a UK plug that I could then plug into the tower.:biglaugh: I'm I the only person in history to replace an aussie plug for a UK one for use in Oz?????:biglaugh::biglaugh:

Pete

Guest Martin and Val

I just went to Bunnings and bought a box of plugs and changed them myself. Dead easy once you have done a few and at just over a couple of dollars it's not a lot of money.

You'll be very surprised how many you will need to change, I keep finding more to do each time I open another box!!!

And as previously said the UK 6 gang strips with an Aussie plug on the end work wonders for things like mobile phone, blue tooth, sat nav chargers and your UK landline phones if you bring them.