Trying to find a job

Guest mark&rachel

Guest mark&rachel

Morning to all, i'm not happy, how hard is it getting a job. I have applied for jobs and no one ever gets back to you, not even we have received your application and will get back to you, not a dicky bird. Have applied for jobs using the SEEK website, they send you a generated e mail saying job application confirmation, but again don't hear anything, i don't even know if my application has been passed on. Has anyone else used SEEK, i feel like i'm wasting my time. I have even done cold calling, dropping in my resume and again, nothing. I really want to work in a coffee shop or a cafe, and would love to become a barista, i have even done a 1 day barista course. I was a police officer in London and have bags of customer and people skills. So what's the problem. I just don't understand, it seems like people are put off by me, just by my resume, it's not a bad resume and i have got all the skills neccessary to get into 'hospitality'. I'm really frustrated. I put a post on Gumtree, and to my surprise someone contacted me saying we need staff in our cafe, we will provide training, contact me if you are interested, so i did via gumtree and it seemed promising, but then i e mailed my resume and nothing, then i see an advert on gumtree form the same cafe wanting reliable and hardworking staff, what a kick in the teeth. So i e- mailed back asking for feedback and guess what, you could hear a pin drop. Even the big arches don't want me....Does anyone have any ideas how i can get the job i want to do or have the same problem in getting a job. I can't see any light at the end of the tunnel. :arghh:

Guest tooeasy