Any primary school relief teachers out there?

Guest Kelly O

Hi :)

My name is Kelly and am currently a relief teacher in Adelaide . We moved out her in April this year. I had been teaching in the UK for 18 years. Relief teaching has been really great this term in 5 lovely schools once my TRB had come through. Am told Term 4 should be okay for work. Does anyone know how to get longer contracts that aren't miles away as we have 2 sons that are happily settled in their school? I am pretty scared about not working in term 1after the long summer hols with no pay. When I came out here I had no idea it was so difficult to secure more permanent employment ,even for many Aussies I have met.

What do TRTs do when there is no work which basically is mid Dec to April I've been told?

Hi

I was in your position relief teaching when I came out here three years ago. Fortunately I secured a contract quickly and didn't have to worry about the term 1 lack of work and I must say I seem to see lots of relief teachers where I am in term 1. Have you signed on with the agencies, got clearance to teach in Catholic schools and got to know a few cluster scheme organisers? Which area are you based in and how far are you prepared to travel?

Kelly

Hi Kelly,