Are things really that bad!!

Guest Jenny123

Guest Jenny123

I have been studying this and a few other aussie forums for many months and now I am in a state of total "don't know what to do". Most of what I have read tells stories of people struggling to find jobs having been in Adelaide for anything from 2 to 18 months.

We have our house up for sale and will be over as soon as we can. My worries are now that by the time we arrive, my husband will be 47 years old (I am 43) and we are now thinking that he is going to struggle to find work because of this. We are not coming over on skilled visas - he is a kiwi - so family visa. At present he works in the car industry (plastic moulding). Me, I would be very happy with a little part time job - eg receptionist at a gym or sweeper upper at a hairdressers - I'm not wanting an IT or medical job, so are these types of smaller jobs around and are we likely to find that companies would rather employ younger people as they do here because its cheaper.

I'm sorry I seem to have waffled on a bit but I am really worried that I will be tearing my family apart (my daughter is staying here is England) without any means of earning money to make a return visit once a year. Don't get me wrong we are far from lazy people and certainly don't expect opportunities to land at our feet. And no we are not a couple who think we are going to be better off in Oz than the UK with a massive mortgage free house, we are prepared to work hard and enjoy a more outdoor lifestyle than here.

Hope someone can shed some light :wubclub: