childcare jobs and qualifications

Guest lauraanddan

Guest lauraanddan

Hi all was wondering if anyone could help.

I am moving to adelaide and need to get my skills transfered is there an easy way to do this and how long does it take?

also i have a cache level 3 and a education degree with honours and was wondering if anyone from the uk has similar qualifications and has had them changed to australian what level have they gone to and roughly what pay am i looking at do you think ph?

its all so confusing!:wacko:

Guest Nick11

Your cache level will not be enough to qualify you. If your eduaction degree is in early childhood - you will be okay. You need to go to sa licensing to get it checked. I have an honours degree in education and had to fight tooth and nail to get qualified to do that job. However they have recently tightened up the rules due to the rise in overseas qualifications. I was told that if I applied now..I wouldn't be accepted as qualified!!!

Guest lauraanddan

i have emailed a few companies and agencies with my qualifications and they have said i wouldnt have a problem getting job as a qualified childcarer but i just wondered about transfering the qualifications over to australian

Hi ya your be best to go to skills recognition , curry st in the city they will do an assessment to see if it can be changed over.

Not all of my NVQ could be but part can so i have to do some other units here to make it up to a diploma. The good thing at the moment there are no fees to pay at Tafe just matreials which are $29 each and you can claim them back off your tax next year;)

Guest Nick11
i have emailed a few companies and agencies with my qualifications and they have said i wouldnt have a problem getting job as a qualified childcarer but i just wondered about transfering the qualifications over to australian

Yes I had the same response..until they rang licencing.