Looking for work, can anyone help?

wesandmel

Hi,

Here is my situation, I transferred here to Australia from the UK just over two years ago. I have been contracted with my employer for two years due to Visa regulations. Since being here I have never really enjoyed my job here or working for this company. I have persevered due to having a wife who is studying and three sons all at school.

As my contract is now up I am looking at my options for employment. Unfortunately I have found that due to my lack of qualifications there is not much choice. You seem to have to be qualified in everything here, including how to pull a pint. The other issue is that there are only three companies who specialize in what I have been doing for the last 15 years. They are not however in the state of SA and I am not willing to relocate the family again.

I have 15 years work experience. 13 years in production and the last two in project co-coordinating, staff management and general customer service and sales.

I guess what I am asking is, does anyone know of anyone who is looking to employ someone with experience but not necessarily being qualified in anything.

I have looked at all industries and different jobs within the industries and I would be happy to try my hands at anything. I have a resume available and cover letter if anyone would like to view and think they can help.

Cheers

Wes

Hi Wes,

Have you thought about registering with some of the employment agencies?

I had a couple stay with me...he was a landcape gardener. He struggled to find work but walked into a management job in retail after an agency opened a few doors. In fact...on the very same day, he received a letter of confirmation that he had the job, and a letter to say that he had been unsuccessful!!! The positive one was the response to the agency and the negative one was an online application.

Good luck with your job hunting. My OH is in the same boat....qualifications not worth diddly here.

Tamara