Careers advice

Guest Anne29

Does anyone know anywhere in adelaide where you can get careers advice? I've looked on google and found nothing and am getting quite desperate...

Basically after doing a number of admin jobs since being here, (I've been here just over 3 years) I've decided that I actually am starting to dislike office work. I've had a number of bad experiences, such as jobs being advertised as admin, but turned out to be pure accounts roles. I had to leave my last admin job as the office manager (my line manager) was making my life hell. The other staff picked up on this and someone mentioned to her that her behaviour towards me was not good. After this she wasn't as hostile towards me, but she'd totally ruined what would have been the perfect job, so I left.

I've been doing a casual job for about 4 months (cleaning) and was told on monday that all the staff there would be losing their jobs in 3 weeks, me included (this was due to our company losing the tender for the renewed contract). I'm gutted as this was my only way to keep myself sane whilst I looked for something permanent as well as having some money to contribute to bills to take the strain off my fiance having to pay for everything.

I really could do with some careers advice. I have a BA Honours Degree in Early Childhood Studies majoring in Special Educational Needs and would therefore like to get back into working with children. My degree qualifies me as an Early Years Practitioner but would like to start off being a teachers aide so that I can build my knowledge up of the education system out here. I've heard that to be a teachers aide, you need to hold a first aid certificate, is this correct? I really don't know how to get into it but need some advice as in 3 weeks I will have no job.

Any advice would be really appreciated. Sorry for the long post!

Hi Anne,