Any advice?

Guest ajp

Hi All,

Until January I worked in the UK with children with special educational needs and specifically autism and aspergers syndrome. Although I am working in Adelaide I haven't managed to find employment simular to what I was doing back in London.

I have a BA Hons Degree, although not specific to Special Educational Needs and an NVQ Level Three in Learning Support with children with special educational needs and eight years experiance in this field. So does anyone know,

a)How I find out if my UK qualifications are transferable?

b)How I get the necessary Australian qualfiications to be able to look for work in my field of experiance?

If you have any ideas I'd love to hear from you.

Cheers

Alex

Hi,

When I was teaching recently there was a child in the class with Asperger's, who had a support person who was trained and I think she is working for Relationships SA. Would be worth contacting them directly. What is your degree in? I have expertise in the areas you've mentioned and have found that schools are really lacking in knowledge and support for these conditions.

There is an organisation based in the city that assess qualifications and tell you what they'd be equivalent to over here, can't remember the name - will post when I remember. You should be able to google it, or maybe look on the DIMIA site.

Thanks that would be really helpful!

Alex

"from my friend who said she would be happy for u to facebook her so send me a pm if you want.