White card ?

garyandelaine

Hi everyone,

Been here just on a week now and really enjoying life at the mo.

Got quite a bit done so far ( bank accounts , medicare , TFN , Car , Centrelink - they fobed us off and told us to apply online . )

Can somebody let us know how to get a white card (i am a carpenter)or if i need one straight away and anything else that we will need to do pretty soon .

THANKS , GARY ELAINE CONNOR 6 DYLAN 3 :notworthy:

Hi Gary. I'm also a carpenter and coming over in February. Reading your post about needing a white card; do you know if I would need one of these to work on a subcontract basis? Also just wondered what you did about your tools and getting them over. I'd planned to stick them in the container with everything else but obviously won't be able to work for about 6-8 weeks until they arrive. Trying to make contact with local builders about work availability but not getting too far. Sorry about all the questions, there just seems so much to sort out!!

Thanks

Simon

Hi Gary. I'm also a carpenter and coming over in February. Reading your post about needing a white card; do you know if I would need one of these to work on a subcontract basis? Also just wondered what you did about your tools and getting them over. I'd planned to stick them in the container with everything else but obviously won't be able to work for about 6-8 weeks until they arrive. Trying to make contact with local builders about work availability but not getting too far. Sorry about all the questions, there just seems so much to sort out!!

Thanks

Simon

Hi Simon , everyone needs a white card to work on a building site (i think) its like the cscs card in uk . to be a subby you need a builders licence( ABN ) which you have to do a course for (a couple of days i think) , someone on here could tell you for sure.