Midwifery Work

Guest midwifeonthemove

Guest midwifeonthemove

Hello Everyone!

I am a midwife with 13 years post reg experience looking to move to Adelaide in March 2011. I was wondering how much work there is for midwives around, and how much roughly I can expect to earn?. I am happy to work full time or agency....whatever is available :cute:

Thanks for any help.

T x

Hi T,

quite a lot of work here for midwives..............both public and private sector.

Talking to some expat midwives, practice is very different...espesh in the private sector, which is driven by the obgyn bods, and there is a huge tendency to LSCS; not complaining me, means i get called and get extra dosh,lol

My current hospital has a large unit for mids, busy, but i think its understaffed!! Really nice place, and the mid girls are fabulous.............most are part time so i guess thats why it seems busy!

Salary is dictated by hours worked, naturally, and dont forget, in oz you have to accrue annual and sick leave!!

Hope it helps

Jane

Guest punkrokka

That's all good news .... Now that IELTS is out of the way we've sent off all the paperwork to APHRA today.

It was worrying us that the work wasn't there for midwives, is there anywhere we can get a copy of that newspaper article?

Hi T - Welcome to Poms in Adelaide

I think we have met and probably worked together:biglaugh:

Yes there is a lot of midwifery work here - The two major public hospitals are Womens and Childrens Tel 08 8161 7000 and Flinders Tel 08 824 5511

I do know that Flinders are certainly recruiting at the moment although they will want you to be available to work a 24/7 roster and The Womens and Childrens are usually on the look out for experienced RM's - speak to Rowy on here - she works there and has settled quite well so I believe.

The private hospitals with mid units are Ashford - 08 8375 5222

Flinders Private - 08 8275 3333

Burnside 08 8202 7222