Advice for Newly-Qualified Nurse!

Guest NicNox

Guest NicNox

Hello Everybody :o

How are you, all? I am wondering if you could give me some advice.

I am currently studying at the University of Surrey hoping to Qualify in July 2012 (18 months time), with a Diploma of Higher Education in Adult Nursing. I will be 27.

My question is: As I am looking to emigrate to Adelaide as soon as possible, when is the best time to get the ball rolling (so to speak) and also: how do I go about doing that? Should I use an Agent?

Any advice would be greatly received.

Kind Regards

Nicola

Guest Daisy Duke

Hi Nic,

I'm also a qualified nurse, and am just about to go out to Adelaide in a few weeks time. I have just over 2 years experience (I did the diploma in mental health) and went for an interview last year in London, and got offered the post. I went through an agency called Peyton O Grady and they pretty much sorted everything as we went in terms of red tape.

My friend only qualified last Sept, and she applied more or less straight away once she qualified, again with the same agency. She is just waiting for her nursing reg to be prosessed as she started the process a few months after me, but hopes to be over there by July.

The whole process from start to finish has taken roughly 10 months, so not to bad.

My partner and I are going on a 457 visa initially, but hopefully if all goes well, we will apply for PR once we know we are defo staying.

Feel free to fire any questions, and hopefully I can help you out.

Sara

:-)

Guest NicNox

Hello Sara How are you?

Thank you very much for your relpy, I really appreciate :-)

When you decided to emigrate, did you contact the Agency before doing anything else? Also, If you do not mind me asking: How did you find the job that you interviewed for?

I apologise for all the questions, but being a complete beginner to all this and as I would be going on home, Im trying to get all the infomration now, if that makes sense haha.