Catering/Chef work

ajford

Hi & Hello to everyone

I am a chef I have around 15 years experience-started when i left school and i have worked in most types of enviorments from Hotels to schools,cafes hospitals

We are just waiting to hear the golden news regarding getting the visa,now the meds have come back ok-

If its ok can i ask a question or two( i am still fairy new to the site)

Do employer s mind you just caling in in and handing your CV to them or having a chat?

At the moment i have been appying for Jobs from the UK but because i dont have my visa yet i am not getting very far-understandable really i know?

Is there any tips when approaching future employers or employers I should look up first?, Any help or advise will be good and many thanks,

It will be nice to be over there and looking for real-sorry ramble over thanks for your time

Andrew

Hi Andrew,I am a qualified chef also,I did my city and guilds 22 years ago.After arriving here I made a decision to try to have a career change so we can have a better quality of life because as you know it is mainly shift work in catering.I did look into it at first though and I think the best way to go is by walking into places with your C.V and trying to speak to the manager.I don't know what courses you have taken but my qualifications seem to mean nothing here even though back in England they were the best you could get!I do believe that you can get them transferred to Australian ones but I am not sure.Good luck.Sharon

Guest clare

my hubbys a chef since leaving school also, id say you need to be here and you need to deal directly with the head chef/manager. He's had 8 jobs in just under a year bakerys, hotels restraunts he's now in a old peoples home an he loves it as hours are amazing. Good luck