jobs for plumber is there much??

Guest dalton

Guest dalton

Hi all can anyone let me no what the work situation is like for plumber/gas im hearing things are slowing & the ozzies are reluctant to give jobs to us poms lol. while back they were sreaming out for us !!! whats the score??

Guest kfoley0681

speaking as a plumbers wife i would say there is still work out here maybe not as much as a few years ago but they are generally not entertaining you for job offers unless you have already done your australian tafe training and have your licences ie gas and or plumbers! being a plumbers for years in the uk or having uk qualifications doesnt mean your qualifed to work here!!!

Guest chillyanna

Hi Dalton, well while im a carpenter and not a plumber i do get to see pluimbers on my sites often and think there are jobs on offer, like other trades people come and go from companies and they are nearly always after new people to fill positions. you should email your resume to plumbing companies ( of which there are a lot of) telling them of your abilities and qualifications in advance of you coming over. maybe you could tee up a meeting/interview for a later date. i looked through the yellw pages for potential employers then went there with my resume to hand over in person. out of 6 places visited i had 2 offers within a day. BUT i do think you could strugle if you dont have aussie qualifications. i know a bloke a who left the trade because of this. come to think of it i have not really seen any pom plumbers.

Good luck

There are jobs for you but it takes some chasing to get one.

As you are aware you have to do the LONG training courses at the TAFE.

You can get a job working under direct supervision.

Not many of the plumbers I know got a job before coming out you it does no harm trying.

If you look how many plumbing companies or in the yellow pages you will get an idea of how many companies there are, But there are lots who dont use the yellow pages.