Painting and Decorating

Guest Shaun O

Guest Shaun O

Im just about to send my info to TRA. Im a fully qualified painter and decorator with an NVQ Level 2 and 3 in painting and decorating and 6 years experience. Ive had my own business for the past 5 years. Is applying to the TRA first the best way to get started before applying for my visa? Thanks in advance!

Guest Shaun O

Thanks for your reply. I will be putting my TRA application in within the next two weeks. What is the current situation regarding decorating work in SA at the moment? Is there lots of work? Private or site work? Its been very slow for a lot of decorators here at the moment.

Guest boesman

Yes, TRA would be the first step, but just check, these days NVQ isn't always acceptable. We had to do an AQF111 certificate in tiling before applying to TRA. Might be different for painters. You can email TRA as they always respond back within a day or two.

Ash is busy & works mainly new housing / site work, East/West & City suburbs, rarely South. Use seek.com.au & local papers, ring local paint companies & speak to the building companies when you arrive. It may quieten down, but who knows, you just have to ask around.

Guest Shaun O
Ash is busy & works mainly new housing / site work, East/West & City suburbs, rarely South. Use seek.com.au & local papers, ring local paint companies & speak to the building companies when you arrive. It may quieten down, but who knows, you just have to ask around.

Will I be able to work on sites? Or will I have to gain a card such as a CSCS card over here? Does Ash run his own business? Thanks for your replies so far its great to get any help and info!

Yes he has his own business, he has a license which is a supervisors building contractor license & a white card, you pay for both, white card easy & cheap but the license a bit more difficult, you go through OCBA in the city (Office of Consumer Business Affairs) you wont need the license if you work as an employee though.