Teaching Registration.

My head is a bit battered from figuring out shipping quotes, organising renting our house out and all other Adelaide bound necessities this week. Hoping somebody can give me some advice on the more important business of finding work.

I am a secondary school teacher and to be honest I am starting to think maybe I need a career change on arrival as there seems to be very little work for me over there.

I have been on DECS and started to fill in the registration for work (not that they are showing as having any positions for me) but then saw something about TRB (teachers registration board or South Australia) and wondered if I have to register with TRB before I can complete the application for work with DECS? Can I apply to TRB whilst I am still in the UK?

I have been on the TRB website but the links are sending me round in circles (which is probably just my current state of mind) I got an overseas qualification recognition certificate as part of the visa application. Can this be used for the TRB registration or do I need to apply/pay for that again?

Also does anybody know if you can teach primary with a secondary teaching qualification? I was a bit confused on the DECS application when it asked the age/year you could teach a subject up to. When you selected the older age groups it automatically included everything from year 1 upwards!?

Would appreciate any help and advice. Thank you.

Guest Adelaide_bound

You need to register with TRB before you can register with DECS, but you won't be able to do this until you are in Aus, as you need to do a First Aid and Mandatory Child Training Course (both one day long) in Aus and submit the certificates from these as part of your registration.