is it pointless going to Adelaide?

Guest irishalec

Guest irishalec

I'm a Irish carpenter hoping to head to Adelaide in October with my wife and daughter, we are just in the process of buying our airline tickets, but i'm getting so much negative feedback about the work climate there i'm wondering is it pointless going to Adelaide?

I'm a Irish carpenter hoping to head to Adelaide in October with my wife and daughter, we are just in the process of buying our airline tickets, but i'm getting so much negative feedback about the work climate there i'm wondering is it pointless going to Adelaide?

sorry but its hard to say if its a waste of time, there have been many that have come here when work situation was stronger and still not found work. The Construction company I work for has enough work and are busy to a point, some firms are busy some are quiet and laying off, housing is getting quiet compared to a year or two ago but you would not believe it when you see all the houses being built. What i have learnt since i got here if your any good there is work out there if your willing to make the effort. No one can be arriving thinking they have the right to work. Sorry can not answer your question any other way

Guest tosher

I'm not a carpenter but a painter ... it has been quiet for about 5-6 weeks, but it is winter, as I remember the UK was just the same, Feb was dead for work. In the last 3 weeks things have picked up again generally talking to the carpenters on site. I would recommend anyone to move over here. We have been here for 5 years and love it. Good luck whatever you decide.

If you are arriving in October I would suggest looking for work the minute you arrive because once it starts to get into November things will slow down. You will need to obtain a white card before you can work on construction sites, so get this set up straight away or it will hold you back. When I worked on a construction site we used Civil Train