Job Sponsorship

Guest Steve O

Guest Steve O

11 months into my application to find I have qualified as an Engineering Manager with Australian Engineering, past my IELTS and ticked all the boxes with regards competences to be told I cannot achieve 65 points for the state sponsorship ticket because of my age bracket (40 to 44) and because I do not have a degree (OND only)!!!!

I have now been told to seek company sponsorship, the trouble is that all the vacancies available, to which I have applied for are wanting someone who resides in Austalia!!!!! Any ideas or contacts?

What sort of engineering is it you do? The demand for 'foreign' engineers has dropped off quite a bit in recent times which is perhaps why many are seeking local engineers? I'm a consultant engineer in Building Services and i know the demand is fairly high in other major CBD's, in particular Perth but alas in Adelaide is fairly quiet. Let me know what area of engineering you're in and i'll see if i can give you some pointers.

• 2 weeks later...
Guest Steve O

I'm a Maintenance Manager in the FMCG industry. (United Biscuits) Expertise in SAP,MTBF and electrical legislation. I am also a qualified electrical installation engineer.I'm currently waiting replies on 3 engineering roles to which I have applied for with an opportunity for company sponsorship.