IT job for 475 visa holders

Guest yazan

Hi everybody,

i am moving to SA withen 2 months under 475 state sponsership visa, and i am really concerned about finding an IT job for me (i work as a database administrator). So how long does it take to find a job, and does the SA government provide any help in finding a job for me as a 475 visa holder

thanks

IT skills are generally in demand. However as someone who recently advertised an IT position many people apply for IT jobs with poor resumes and do not have the required skills or experience to do the job. So if you are good at your job and have a good resume that matches with what the employer is looking for you should find work.

Are there any recruitment agencies in SA, which help improving resumes and finding a proper job. I have heard that companies tend to employ candidates once they are in SA, not candidates who are planning to immigrate, is that true?

Thanks Jessica, well i work as Senior Database Administrator I've in the field of DB adminstration for more than 7 years, i hope to find a good job as i will start searching for one before my departure to Adelaide .... i hope to to schedule some interviews before my arrival

can anyone send me link for sample aus resume format for IT jobs ?

If you look at the 'templates' in Word 2007 they are a good general starting point, but what you say and how you say it is very important.

When I worked as a Trainer here in Adelaide, I personally always asked my students to write the resumes in their own words and then modified them. I feel this is better because as a HR person dealing with recruitment I can tell the resumes that have been created by an agency and quite a lot of them look the same and use the same wording.