work for B class electrician ??

KathC

hi all

we finally arrived just over 2 weeks ago and are slightly despondant about work situation......my oh worked as an electrician in the uk (on the commercial side) and did the VETASSES route which gave him a B class electrician status here.......we are finding that there is no work at all for him and we are getting a bit worried....has anyone done the TAFE course here to gain A class status?? very confusing!!!!

All our relatives here are reassuring us that its because its holiday period and things will be slow but i cant help worrying!!!

I am a qualified veterinary nurse and so far zero on the job front, have approached all the vets in the area (and registered with agencies) but nothing....am starting to get upset that things may not work out ........i have to keep telling myself its only been 2weeks and once we can get the 2 boys in school at least things might become normal....

has anyone else felt like this......am i being too harsh???

any thoughts / advice gratefully received!!!!

kathryn

Hi, I only arrived on Monday and have not started looking for work yet ( electrician) but from what I've heard there is plenty of work for sparks. The problem will be with the vets route. With this you are just a trades assistant for a year while completing a log book. I was lead to believe its hard to get work on this route. After I got my visa I got my trade re assessed by the TRA and got an ARTC certificate. With the ARTC all you then have to do is the wiring regs at peer which I'm on soon and then you can get your A class licence straight away. I was told employers prefer this route so it might be worth looking into. Like I said though I have not even tried looking for work yet as only just got here and jan/school hols wont be the best time to look.

Chris.