Primary School teacher stories

Leeds1877

Hi,

I am a primary teacher and we are going out in April to validate our visa, with a hope to moving out early next year. Anyhow from the threads I've posted and people have responded to, I've been led to believe teaching is quite different in Australia to what we are used to in the UK. Also, it can be extremely hard to secure permanent posts. Therefore I'm hoping to take my daughter around a primary school while we are over to 'see for myself' so to speak.

Hope this helps.

Karen

Hi I'm a primary teacher, just arrived in Adelaide and busy getting assessment and registration done (& courses) but will let you all know how I go. I think I'm going to go and volunteer at a school whilst I wait- will update thus thread or start anew one when I can x

• 1 month later...

Hi everyone,

I'm a Primary school teacher (as well as running Roo Rentals). I decided last July to get my qualifications recognised over here (Ive been living here 5 years but came in on my husbands visa) and boy what a ball ache its been!

Its taken me this long to have my skills recognised, UK Police checks, Mandatory Notification of Child Abuse course, First Aid course and Teacher Registration sorted. :wacko:

Now finally I'm up and running, the next hurdle is getting some relief work.

Firstly you need to join DECds (state schools) where you sign up online and submit all your documents (listed above), you then receive an email from DECds which says you are able to work in SA schools. http://www.decd.sa.gov.au/

You then need to take this, along with a cover letter and Teacher Registration certificate (copy) to every school you wish to work at.

Some schools like you to fill in an application form and have a small interview with you (especially the Independant schools) and others are fine with you just dropping off your pack.