Teachers I need your help!

Guest Rosie1979

Guest Rosie1979

Looking at the possiblity of applying to migrate out to Adelaide. How easy/difficult was it to find steady/secure employment? Did you get a job before moving out? Is it possible to be sponsored by a school? Or did you find work once you'd made the move?

My husband is currently a Head of Science in a secondary school teaching 11-16 yrs olds.

Hi!

I'm a teacher and I'm just trying to get sorted to do some supply/relief teaching here as we came over a month ago with my OH's job. From speaking with a few Adelaide teachers, I think permanent contracts are few and far between but if you're happy to do relief teaching or short term contracts then there is work. I may be wrong but that's what I've been told.

I'm in the process of getting my qualifications assessed by the TRB (Teachers Registration Board) here in Adelaide...my paperwork is submitted and they say should take about 4 weeks to come through (I qualified with a PGCE). You can do that bit from the UK but you'll need to get a copies of all your I.D. and qualifications certified before sending them over. Meanwhile i'm booked on the Abuse and Neglect Course, First Aid course plus applying for the ACRO Police check in the UK (didn't need one for OH's visa so didn't get one done whilst in the UK....wish I had!) then I'm all set to register with the TRB and get my CV around the schools to do some TRT (temporary relief teaching). You won't be able to do the registration bit until you get here as you'll need to do the 2 courses when you arrive but you can get booked on them before you arrive.

Not sure if that helps answer your question as I'm really not sure yet how much secure work there is for teachers here. But everyone I've spoken to says that there is work even if it's just TRT.

Lyn

Guest Rosie1979
Hi!