would you train to be a teacher or a nurse?!?!

Guest seekingsunshine

Guest seekingsunshine

Hi,

was wondering if any one had any advice?

I already have a degree so would enter both courses as a post grad..

for early years/primary teaching i would be doing two years of post grad study

for nursing be two years of study-entering at the second year level...

i think i would enjoy either course and would enjoy both jobs just not sure what the job market is like for teachers? nursing i believe would offer more current employment opportunities...

anyone have any ideas?!

Guest AngPhil

I have been teaching for 13 years and it is not the job to do if you are not 100% sure. I have a really good friend who is a nurse, she would say the same. Both are vocational careers. With teaching you get 1/4 of the year off work, but are responsible for up to 32 children all say. My advice wold be spend a few days job shadowing both and see if you find a passion or either.

Good luck

Ps I had a job virtually straight away when I got here and my nurse friend was the same.

Guest lynne x

Hi,

Are you studying in Adelaide ?If so I think there are financial incentives to encourage people to study nursing /midwifery here.

There are lots of nursing jobs available,Im obviously giving you a biased opinion as a nurse but really cant imagine getting the same level of job satisfaction from any other career .

Good luck with whichever path you choose ,

Lynne :smile:

Guest julie2010