Lyell McEwin Hospital

Guest wilky

Guest wilky

Hi to everyone I'm new to the whole process of migrating to SA I've been offered a job at Lyell McEwin Hospital wondered if anyone could give me any feedback on this hospital good or bad.

Thanks Tina

The Lyell Mac is not a bad hospital in its self. It has a paeds ward, an emerg, maternity, plus general med and surg wards. Security is high, particularly in the staff car parks, which is surrounded by a very high wire fence. The hospital services a community which in the main has high unemployment, low education levels, large numbers of associated health probs. Of course these are not the only people seen here. It is a public hospital on the edge of Elizabeth, I think its in Elizabeth Vale. Elizabeth Vale, grove, Nth, Sth etc is a large housing trust area (council estate)You could find ok places to live about 10 to 30 mins away, either North in gawler or going closer into the city . I have never worked there but have dropped off patients when we transfer them back. I haven't heard any complaints about working conditions. If you have been offered a job there, take it have a look then you can always move to a different hospital if you don't like it.

Guest alan smallman

Hi Tina

Pauline and I are going out in May for 2 weeks. We hope to have a couple of interviews (we're waiting for the agency to set them up. But we'll als be going around looking at others and asking a few questions as we do. I've heard that Wakefield is a nice hospital to work for (it's a private organisation) and they look after their staff quite well. I'm just negotiating a 6 month secondment in A&E at Skegness for the summer!!!! Something to look forward to aye? I would be interested in how it pans out for you though Tina. Please keep us posted. Is that Sedgeley in The Black Country?

Cheers

Alan

Guest wilky