Electrical A grade License required?

Guest loafydawson

Guest loafydawson

Hi all,

I am a time served electrician living and working in the UK working as an CE&I commissioning engineer in the nuclear industry. I have completed my vetassess practical skills assessment as an electrician (general) along with my IELTS test. I have just lodged my independant visa application but I have one main worry about my potentian move. The A grade license!

I am aware that this is a mandetary requirement to work as an installation electrician and an electrician going to be involved in the disconnection/reconnection process. However, I am hoping to find work on control systems/maintenance/instrumentation within the industrial indutry. Can anybody advise as to wether I still requiree my A grade license to conduct this type of work.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Wayne

• 6 months later...

Hi Wayne, I've just joined this forum, how far are you with everything? I'm also a controls technician, just about to sit my vetassess in September with view to apply for the 489 visa & looking for info about the requirements to work in Adelaide as maintenance/controls engineer etc, any help will be appreciated.

dear ,, darkfireuk!! wrote this a few weeks ago hope it helps!

ELECTRICIAN A class licence for south Australia. and the getting of.

If you have gone down the VETASSESS route stop reading now.... I dont know anything about it.

For the ease of this I will take it you already have a visa and are in Australia and have come fromthe UK, but if not there are a few things to take note of before you leave old blighty

What you need.... to be an electrician in the first place ..with trade papers, apprenticeship, work history, reference’s from old employers........sometime and money! Oh and a strange desire of liking walking up and down CurrieSt/ Grenfell st..

To get the A licence you will need two things... a ATRC.. Australian trade recognition certificate