Registering as a teacher

SwanseaJack

Hi all

Can anyOne help me please. I hope to get my visa by the end of next week. The end of a very stressful 13 months.

I have gained a sponsorship as a primary teacher. I have been a teacher for 17 years. I am aware that I need to pass some tests when I get there in order to get a job as a teacher. So I wanted to know:-

* what are the tests

* is there a cost and if so how much?

* how long to the test take ( to sit them, get the results and be eligible to teach in SA)

* can I do them prior to entering Australia

* is there any way you can apply for jobs before entering Australia and do an interview on Skype

* are the teaching prospects good in Australia

Sure I will think of more questions over the next few weeks.

can't wait to go just need to sell my house!!!!!!

Thanks Kathy

Hello there!

There are no tests as such. You need to gain the Mandatory notification of abuse certificate by doing a days course which can only be done when you are here to be able to register as a teacher in SA. There are a couple of organisations that do it but I went with CEASA. Once you have the certificate and certified copies of certificates and transcripts you can submit for your registration. You will also need to do a first aid course to actually teach but not for registration. You can book both of these online from the UK. Getting a job iis very hit and miss but generally you do supply work and get yourself known and respected and then pick up more long term work from this. This is called TRT work. You can register with agencies like Ranstad and Switch but also do your own work direct to schools (DECD) work. All the best.

My understanding from talking to teachers is that primary work in Adelaide can be hard to come by unless its supply work.