Please Please can someone help me? x

Guest laura coldwell

Guest laura coldwell

Hello there,

So in 116 days my husband and I will be getting on a plane (one way) to Adelaide. I am a mental health nurse and have been trying to secure a Perm position using Geneva Health. I have had a call tonight explaining about the job freeze (which I was already aware of) and as back up I have signed up to NASA with HCA. I am hoping that someone who works or has experience working for NASA can offer me some reassurance. My husband will be seeking work as soon as we land but for a while I will be the only person bringing in an income. My question is: Do you get a lot of shifts or enough to live on? I figure that although I have been told there is a job freeze S.A would not be taking nurses for SS if there was not work? I am really worried that I am going to land and not have any work. Please can any one offer advice. I would be eternally grateful xxx

Hi Laura, Im an RN and working for HCA, It does go quiet at times and im told that for RN's its pretty quiet at the moment (though im working on a contract so havent noticed) I'm told that there are plenty of shifts available for Mental Health nurses either within SA health or in community/correctional placements

When i first joined NASA i also signed up for YNA (another agency)

Best of luck with it all I'm sure it'll be fine :)

Guest Kel87

Sorry can't help Laura but I hope everything woks out when you arrive.

Maria- as a nurse have you noticed any nurses really struggling to get work? As the only Earner everything rests on me, no money...no nothing :( do you know of people struggling to get full time hours or is that possible as long as your not fussy about where you work? I'm an RN.

Guest laura coldwell