Upper pay scale teacher in UK.... Same in Australia?!

Guest Alexis

Guest Alexis

Hi! I'm in need of a bit of advice! I was a primary school teacher in the UK for 9 years and was on upper pay scale 2 with subject leader of both art and dt. I'm looking into registering to work in Adelaide and have researched the process ahead. Only thing I can't find any information about is whether I will be able to go in at the same level as I was in the UK and how I prove the UPS2 pay scale as we weren't given certification of this!! Any advice/help with this would be greatly appreciated!! I have 2 children, one of which is only 2 so I'm not in a great hurry to return but know it will have to happen at some point and probably sooner rather than later!

Thanks in advance,

Alexis

Hi

My oh is just going through the salary reclassification process here where the DECD take into account your UK service and move you to the relevant teaching salary band. In uk he was right at the top of the scale with an additional TLR for management. It takes 8 weeks and all the info can be found online as they have want specific info confirming from uk employer. We should hear this week but he spoke to them early on and they said he will prob be put on band 8 which is $83000! Way better than uk

Hi

My oh is just going through the salary reclassification process here where the DECD take into account your UK service and move you to the relevant teaching salary band. In uk he was right at the top of the scale with an additional TLR for management. It takes 8 weeks and all the info can be found online as they have want specific info confirming from uk employer. We should hear this week but he spoke to them early on and they said he will prob be put on band 8 which is $83000! Way better than uk

That's good to hear, I have been teaching for 9 years in Scotland and currently at the top of the scale with a bit extra for the chartered teacher scheme, hope that that will be taken into account.