Any overseas nurses emigrating who haven't got a job?

Guest macrad

Hi, I'm a uk senior charge nurse working in orthopaedics, we are moving to Adelaide in January on a skilled independant permanent visa, tickets bought, accomodation aranged and my AHPRA eligibility sorted out. I've applied for a few nursing jobs with no success. I've given up for the time being and plan to start applying for jobs again once we actually arrive in Adelaide.

I was just wondering if there are any nurses who have emigrated to Adelaide and not got a job?

I'm hoping that the reason I'm getting no-where with my applications is down to still being in the UK rather than a lack of job opportunities in Adelaide:unsure:

Any advice appreciated

Guest mature1_arnie

Yep once you are here you will work no problems, there are lots of expat UK nurses working here in lots of different medical fields good luck old expat 1961 vintage arnie

Guest leemina

I worked on acute medical wards in the UK (gastro & respiratory). Came out in August 2011 with never even visiting Australia before, no jobs for me or my hubby lined up. Started with NASA (agency) after a few weeks, and then got full time job on respiratory ward at FMC in October 2011, became permanent the following year, and last year was made a senior. It can be done, just make sure you have enough pennies to cover you for a while (just in case). Good luck.

Guest MandiMR2

Hi there, I'm a senior haematology/oncology nurse, also making the move in January, with no job as yet. I've just returned from a 3 week visa validation & research trip. Whilst there I visited at all the hospitals, left my CV with the clinical managers of haem/onc area & made a few contacts. One informal visit actually turned into a full on interview, there & then with no warning!!!