Apprenticeships

Guest metal_oli

Guest metal_oli

Hi i will be coming over to adelaide in august and i am intrested in getting an apprenticeships in the motor industry as a mechanic i have tried in england and have had no luck, so i would like to know how easy it is to get an apprenticeships in adelaide.

Thanks

Guest Guest75

I think it is becoming more popular again to have apprenticeships.

This is why tradies are in demand here because Oz let the apprenticeship schemes slip.

Most employers can now get you onto a TAFE course (see http://www.tafe.sa.edu.au/ )

My daughters boyfriend has just been given an apprenticeship from his boss in sheet metal work.He'll have to be doing a bit of night school but the boss gives him some time off.

:)

If you are young and want opportunities I'd advise looking at diesel work - either for heavy machinery (Mining boom) or marine diesel Word is that both areas have huge potential.:)

Guest lippy

Hi

My OH is a mechanic and has justed started work over here.

In his workshop their are 26year old apprentices!! - not heard of in Britain.

On this basis I would think that you should be able to get an apprenticeship reasonably easily as they are crying out for mechanics.

• 4 weeks later...
I think it is becoming more popular again to have apprenticeships.

This is why tradies are in demand here because Oz let the apprenticeship schemes slip.

Most employers can now get you onto a TAFE course (see http://www.tafe.sa.edu.au/ )

My daughters boyfriend has just been given an apprenticeship from his boss in sheet metal work.He'll have to be doing a bit of night school but the boss gives him some time off.

:)

If you are young and want opportunities I'd advise looking at diesel work - either for heavy machinery (Mining boom) or marine diesel Word is that both areas have huge potential.:)

Good evening