Life as a mechanic

Guest Ollie2011

Guest Ollie2011

Hi PIA,

Briefly where we're at:

We are hoping to move out to SA in 2015, taking the whole emigration process slowly as we can't sell our house until next dec or we'll have to pay early redemption fee. We are using ian harrop agent and they have been great! I am a mechanic and have had my skills approved, just need to do the practical assessment now.

Hoping to see if anyone can offer any advice to a mechanic coming out to adelaide. If anyone has emigrated as a mechanic, what has your experience been like? Easy to find a job? Differences in work practice? I will be supporting my little family of 4 initially ( 2 boys who will be 3 and almost 2) and then my wife is hoping to get some private tuition work and this will hopefully fit around the boys. Will have some savings from the sale of our house to help us set up. Am hoping we will get by on my wage?! My wife is quite frugal when it comes to shopping, even now,a will do main shop at the supermarket and then buy meat, fruit and veg from the local market. We don't live a particularly expensive lifestyle, don't go out very much drinking, restaurants etc as we have the boys, tend to do outdoor stuff during the day that's free anyway at the mo so prob won't spend too much on entertainment once we arrive. However have read so many threads saying how ridiculously expensive it is and how people feel that they have made a massive mistake emigrating that it gets me really panicked sometimes! , Any advice and opinion on emigrating with a young family, especially working as a mechanic would be appreciated, positive and negative ( obviously would prefer the positives!:wink:)