Any EMT's or Paramedics out there

Guest EMTGeorge

Guest EMTGeorge

Hi all

Just wondered if anyone in Adelaide works or volunteers as an EMT or Paramedic.

I am an EMT here in New Zealand and have my National Diploma in Ambulance Practice which I believe is a trans tasman qualification.

At 47 and probably 50 by the time we might move out to Aussie I am not sure I would want a full time role nor that I would want to do a degree in paramedicine (although I could start my 2nd year of my paramedicine degree in March here).

So I guess my question is this. What options would I have to keep involved out there as a front line EMT. Here I work as an EMT either alongside a paramedic or as lead medic with lesser qualified crew members dealing with everything a frontline ambulance deals with. We have an ATP that allows me to prescribe, paracetamol. Ibuprofen, Tramadol, Methoxyflurane, Entonox, Adrenaline IM for asthma/ Anaphylaxis,IN adrenaline. Glucagon, salbutamol, Ipratropium, GTN, Aspirin, ondansatron, Loratidine, prednisone. LMA use along with 12 lead ecg and all other equipment carried on and ambulance.

I only include the above as if there are any paramedics over there it will make sense and it would be good to compare what we can do here as EMT's to what can be done there. What level would that put me at over there and would it be usefull. I have 2 years on the road plus some from back in the 80's in the London Ambulance service although it was a very different role back then!

I guess I would like to keep volunteering at least as I love what I do.

so any advice would be great

cheers

george

Hi George.I am an israeli Paramedic living in Adelaide.

As for work - Quite hard to come by. The amb service is only taking graduates out of the uni here.