Career Opportunites in Adelaide

mac

Hi all, Just a piece of advice really. In the UK my husband is a forklift truck driver/warehouse operative and I am an AAT qualified finance officer who has previous experience in government finance. Are these types of jobs easy to come by in the Adelaide area? Is it easy to find jobs in Adelaide? Do most people look for work before they travel to Australia or is it easier just to wait until you get there? Many thanks in anticipation for any advice. Mark & Natalie xx

Guest GilliJ
Hi all, Just a piece of advice really. In the UK my husband is a forklift truck driver/warehouse operative and I am an AAT qualified finance officer who has previous experience in government finance. Are these types of jobs easy to come by in the Adelaide area? Is it easy to find jobs in Adelaide? Do most people look for work before they travel to Australia or is it easier just to wait until you get there? Many thanks in anticipation for any advice. Mark & Natalie xx

Hi - I am an AAT qualified finance office who worked in UK government for 10 years prior to moving here. The AAT qualification is not recognised here although I had been told before we moved that it was, I have found it impossible to obtain employment in the finance/accounting sector and have taken a job in a call centre for an insurance company, a job that I did in the UK over 16 years ago. My qualifications are wasted here. Sorry to be the bearer of not so positive news but the reality of employment here is pretty grim at the moment. Both myself and my husband are earning at least $60k less per annum than we were originally advised we would easliy earn when we did our reccie trip 2 years ago. My husband was an IT manager in the UK with over 20 years experience, it took him 6 and a half months to get a job and is working on a 6 month government contract on the lowest level IT helpdesk. The government here do not offer permanent employment atall.