Help with Job hunting

Guest guest2184

Guest guest2184

I'm currently a British Infantry Officer with 7 years service. I'm a Captain but I'm currently doing a Major's job and I command 170 people. I'm 29 years old and I have a pharmacy degree - but I haven't done pre-reg so I can't go down that route

My wife wants to move back to Adelaide and sooner or later I'm going to have to give in. I was looking at transfering to the ADF and got a fair way down that route but 6 yrs return of service with no accompanied overseas postings didn't appeal in the end.

My questions are:

1. What are my job prospects like in Adelaide?

My contemparies are walking into project management jobs in the UK paying £80k plus but my wife thinks I'm pretty much unemployable as Australians don't rate ex-military as highly as the UK, esp. The City, does. She also says that Australian jobs are far more degree specific than in the UK and so all project manager jobs will require an engineering degree.

2. Is she right?

I'm looking for a managerial job that is field based. I don't mind working in an office as long as I can get in the field occasionally and see what I'm working towards. The mines sound good as I like working time on - time off as opposed to 9 - 5

3. What companies / agencies should I be sending my CV to?

4. To stand the best chance what courses should I take before arriving in Adelaide?

Thanks in advance for any help.

Guest theshearers

Hi Gareth

Welcome to the site. My husband Steve is currently a Warrant Officer (Artificer Elec) in the Royal Marines and we are hoping to emigrate when he has finished his 22yrs next yr. We are looking at a Employer Sponsored Visa and he is applying to the big Defence companies - General Dynamics, BAE etc as we have been advised by some of his civvy contacts at these companies in the UK that his expertise may be needed by them.