Am I being realistic??

Hi

I am currently a student nurse due to qualify in September, I have already secured a job in a large and very busy ICU which I am over the moon about as this is the area I want to work.

We already have PR and have decided that we will move on the 4th April 2015, which will give me six months post qualified experience.

My question is what is the likelihood of securing a nursing position in Adelaide with six months experience?? I have been lucky with my placements and have six months pre-reg experience also in critical care.

I know I will not get a position in ICU in Adelaide with only six months post qualified but does anyone think I will be successful in gaining other employment??

Thanks in advance.

You can but try...although I have heard that a lot of recently qualified nurses here in Adelaide are struggling to find work at the moment, so not sure how the newly qualified nurse situation is. Your age may act in your favour though, I have heard that a lot of places are hiring more mature nurses in preference. Good luck.

Guest Claire-n-tel

Hi Donna!

Newly qualified nurses here generally do what is called a grad post/year, slightly different in each state but basically you are employed for 12 months and do 3 or4 blocks in different areas to gain experience being qualified.

There are not enough grad places for the nurses that are qualifying in Australia and many newly qualified nurses end up with no job, so it is very unlikely to be able to gain one from over seas.

IMHO you need to be thinking about staying in the UK for the extra 6 months to gain 12 months post reg experience. Having done 6 months in critical care during your training would not count as experience, that is just your training.

Is there a reason that you must move in April? If I were you I'd be thinking about if moving then was worth potentially wasting having done my nurse training for?

Good luck claire