Reception teacher help?

mrsB13

I currently teach reception in England and have done for 3 years. My degree is a primary education one and our visas were granted on my primary education degree. The question I am wondering is would I be able to work in an a early years classroom, or would I need a further qualification to teach this even though I teach early years in England? Any advice would be much appreciated!

Gemma

As a primary teacher looking to work in early years in Oz I have had to apply to ACECQA to have my qualifications assessed. From a chat I had with an Early Years Centre whilst in Adelaide, I was told that my qualifications would likely be assessed as diploma level and I would have to carry out some training with 0-2 year olds to qualify as an Early Years teacher. My qualifications from the UK are a BA Hons in Childhood Studies and a PGCE Early Years and Primary Education, but because I did not do an early years placement during my studies with 0-2 year olds it was unlikely I would be classed as an Early Years teacher without further training in that age range. Hope this helps, but worth looking at the site yourself. Good luck. p.s. I am expecting the results of my assessment shortly so will keep you informed.

Thank you for the reply. Really informative if I decide to work with the little ones but thus far I'm not looking to work with under 3s, ideally I'm looking at reception and hoping my BA Hons in primary education with QTS (5-11) will suffice for this?

Will definitely look into your suggestions though so thank you!I've also already had my qualifications assessed & certified by AITSL as a primary teacher so hoping this can get me some TRT work to begin with.

:)

Edited by mrsB13
left something out