looking for job as cashier in pharmacy,bookshop,greengrocer,pls help

wallaby

hi,

I arrived at Adelaide on Jan1,2015 & have been looking for admin/logistics related jobs intensively for the past 4months through Seek.com, careerone.com, indeed.com,jobseeker.com...but no response.I have 10yrs working experience as logistics/project coordinator role in HP/Agilent. I understand I have no local experience,thus, re-adjusting my expectation & hopefully I could land onto any job (cashier, shop assistant,etc) which comes by.

I try to understand how the local recruiting process works. Whenever I pass by Chemist warehouse or any greengrocer or baker delights wondering how does one manage to get the job whereby I am not even seeing the job is advertised in any their companies website or through any employment website. I always see the different cashiers at Chemist warehouse.

Do they hire the cashier or sales persons through their dedicated employment agencies or word of mouth?? Anyone in this job, pls enlighten me. thanks:smile:

Chemist warehouse or any greengrocer or baker delights wondering how does one manage to get the job

I don't know about chemists, but certainly greengrocers and Baker's Delight, Foodland etc hire a fair amount of kids, particularly those under 18.

The kids generally just pop in with their résumé. Sometimes they are vouched for by existing employees, and this obviously helps them get their foot in the door.

Obviously some older people are employed in retail, but the younger the employee, the cheaper. These jobs offer work experience and are a great start, although can be disappointing as the young person hits the terrible age of 18, attracts a higher rate of pay ....and find their shifts tail off.

Maybe try places that need people over the age of 18, such as servos and anything in bar work, bottle shops etc. For the latter, you need to have a certificate for the Responsible Service of Alcohol, which is on online qualification costing around $25.