Discrimination? hard to find?....

antlet

We were given a SIR495 in April, which from what I can make out means it is a "provisional permanent" visa. In effect to meet the conditions of the visa, we have to live in Adelaide for 2 years, work for 1 year and then can apply for permanency therafter - if we meet the criteria.

Being fairly outgoing and self motivated, we felt that we would arrive in Adelaide (we aren't there yet) and pick up work doing something - even a coffee shop initially, while looking for jobs in our respective fields.

I'm a Personal Trainer, I may have to re certify a little to be accepted in Oz - no big deal there, I'm prepared to do that.

My husband is a social worker/child care manager - infact equivalent to the UK Director of Child Protection Services. We were awarded the visa on merit of his skills and a skills shortage in his discipline. Now, I understand that just because there is a skills shortage it doesn't actually mean that there are posts available, but I would assume however, that when posts do become available, that he would be able to apply, and given his experience and proven work history to date at Government level and policy development in this country, that he would be pretty much in the running for any post he apply for. He is more than willing to start at a lower grade given the differences in country,policy, etc