Nursing.. Burnside Hospital

Guest Allie Bloss

Guest Allie Bloss

Hi All.

I'm seeking some info & opinions on Nursing at Burnside War memorial hospital

http://www.burnsidehospital.asn.au/

We are currently looking to move around the Seaford Rise area, they are doing some off plan building work here which looks up our street but again anyone that can advise on this area or just tell us anything about it we'd love to hear.

I am a nurse, currently working in my local accident & emergency department (5yrs experience) and have seen in the RCN magazine that Burnside hospital are doing interviews in March - I have been in contact with them and they have said I sound like a good candidate for their HDU, my concerns are that I really need 'sociable' hours with three boys under 3 1/2yrs and no friends or family in Oz at all I'm only going to be able to work when the boys are in childcare. Ideally I was looking for something along the pre-op assessment / out patients dept line of work.

I would love to hear what anyone has to say..

Also how long would it take to commute to Burnside hospital (3km from CBD) from Seaford Rise?

Many thanks

Allie.:wubclub:

Burnside is a lovely area on the East side of the City, considered by many locals to be one of the most sought-after suburbs to live in. Wide leafy streets, hills as a backdrop, very, very nice.

You could have a look on the RAA site for approximate travelling times from Seaford (which is in the South West), remembering to bear in mind that there would be lots of traffic lights to slow you down en route, and the Southern Expressway only runs in one direction, changing halfway through the day, so may or may not be available to you if you are working shifts.

http://www.raa.net/travel_trip_planner.asp?TerID=580 reckons it's about 45 minutes travel time.