Argh - Childcare shut 4th-11th Jan.....

Guest ben&sharon

Guest ben&sharon

Just found out that our full-time childcare takes a two week break over the Christmas period until the 11th Jan. Are there any other two-working-parent families out there who have come across this problem?

We have no way of taking time off - I'm an accountant with a year-end to do and my OH works in retail, so obviously a busy time. Can anyone recommend any alternatives?

This is the first bit of stress I've had to deal with since getting here and it's not going down well......... :arghh::arghh:

S x

Sorry to say, but think you will find its pretty much standard practice......When i used childcare, they were always closed for 2 weeks over xmas....we always had to make sure we made arrangements...i.e. one of us took the time off...

Unfortunately, i dont have any suggestions for you....

School vacation care also closes down for a period over xmas/new year.

I think its fair enough, as childcare workers want to spend time with their families as does the rest of us.....

Guest ben&sharon

:arghh: Thanks for the input! If it was any other week of the year we could cope with it, but my whole year of work leads up to that week and my husband's company has a policy of no holidays to be taken in Jan..... We're going to have to have a long hard chat with our employers or start thinking about flying my mum out from NZ!!

S x

Community child care centres shut for 2 weeks over xmas, however private centres like ABC,stepping stones etc just close for the public holidays.

I did wonder if it was just the community child care centres that shut....my son went to both Hallett Cove & Happy Valley....which are community centres...and they always shut for 2 weeks.

And yes...the schools vacation care clubs close for around 2 weeks as well....