Teaching in Adelaide

Guest tpgc03

Hi, moving to Adelaide in July/Aug of this year as a newly qualified Primary teacher. Was wondering if there are any UK qualified teachers curerntly teaching in SA that are on PIA? I have checked with Teaching Australia regarding my NQT year and have been told that my PGCE course would be the equivalent to the Oz academic course. So hopefully fingers crossed I will be able to find work in SA primary schools.

I want to find out your experiences of finding work, application process etc?

Thanks,

Nick, Ali, Fin and Sian:)

Guest Kelly O

Hi

I have been living here since last April and have seen quite a few posts on here about teaching. I am a primary school relief teacher but would love a permanent post or even a contract!

I have just posted a reply to one which might help you. If you type in 'teaching' on the search engine and you'll see quite a few posts on the subject.

You should be ok for getting releif teaching work in primary school especially at the time of year you said you are arriving. I had a very good term 3 and 4. I've been told Term 1 is the quietest period.

Anyway some of the previous posts on teaching might answer some of your questions.

Ps. Make sure you come out with the correct police check- ask the TRB- I came with the wrong one - took 8 weeks for it to come through and so could not work straight away which we didn't bank on. Hope this helps.

i also had the wrong police check! It took ages to get the correct one so def check which one you need :)

Also, double check with the TRB about your PGCE qualification as I have a friend here who is having real trouble getting registered as the TRB require a certain number of days teaching practice within the degree (and hers was 4 days short of that expectation) It has been a nightmare for her!