Child Care worries!

Guest Donna and Chris

Guest Donna and Chris

Hi all.

We are at the very begining of our visa application to move to Adelaide. I am a qualified nurse and my hubby an engineer. both our careers mean we have to work shifts which means different days/nights each week! My concern is child care before and after school, as we have a 6 year old daughter. At the moment we can rely on friends and family to take/pick up from school but obviously once in Oz we will be on our own! Does anyone know how early and late child care facilities open?

Not quite sure how we are going to manage getting our daughter to and from school!!confused.gif

Any advice is very welcome..

Many thanks biggrin.gif

Guest Charl.M

Hi Donna. I'm also a nurse and we plan to move in August. This worries me too as we have a 3 year old. But I plan to bank on arrival so will be able to work around my husband initially!

Charl x

Guest weegie

Hi

We visited Brighton Primary yesterday and they have an out-of-hours service attached to the school. It looks to us that most schools seem to offer some sort of facility.

They operate in the morning from 6.30am - the morning session costs $10.

The evening session is on until 6.30pm and costs $17.

On vacation days, it is open 7am to 6pm and is $50.

According to the leaflet 'all families are eligible for for the Commonwealth Government Child Care Benefit' - we're on a 475 so I don't think we'll get any help but most visas will come with some form of benefit cover.

Hope this helps.

Tony

Guest Benoli

we're heading over in June and have the same issue. Hubby and I are both nurses and have a 2 and a 4yr old. Think I'll do agency/bank work and just work round him til we figure something out.

Maybe we should all consider helping each other out somehow?? dunno what to suggest but if anyone has a suggestion/idea feel free to throw it out there :biggrin:

Guest Kel87
perhaps one stay at home:idea:

stevo