Parafield Gardens Secondary School

Guest Elsbels

Guest Elsbels

Thinking of moving to Mawson Lakes. Does anyone know anything about the secondary schools in the area. On education websites, Parafield Gardens is at the baseline of performance, any experiences or views of this school or others would be much appreciated?

Thinking of moving to Mawson Lakes. Does anyone know anything about the secondary schools in the area. On education websites, Parafield Gardens is at the baseline of performance, any experiences or views of this school or others would be much appreciated?

Have a friend who use to teach there wasn't happy with it, Sid it was a very rough school that's the only info I know of the place :)

Guest Adelaide_bound

I've done (admittedly only the one) day at Holy Family Catholic in Parafields - I'm a teacher. I wouldn't say its bad, but something a bit odd about it that I couldn't put my finger on. Some right 'characters', but overall nice kids. Not too sure about the standard of education there - there wasn't any work left for the kids (planned day off, which is a bit lax imho) and when I flicked back through the books there wasn't a lot of work nor marking, but maybe they do things differently there and its a lot of hands on investigation type stuff - there wasn't a whiteboard to write on to teach them anything, so heaven knows what they usually do.

FYI its not really very Catholic at all, no prayers or religious base at all that I could see or experienced (I'm used to real fire and brimstone Catholic schools from the UK, so it was a bit odd to me lol) - but talking to another TRT teacher there, she said Catholic schools vary, some are very religious, some aren't at all and that's one that isn't apparently.

Haven't taught in any more schools up that way though so can't comment any more than this, sorry :)