Sir Vs 136modl

Guest Tina

Hi all

can anyone please give me the benefits of temporary versus permanent residency.

we have applied for SIR495 because painter & decorator was not on the MODL list, i have recently found out as of 30-07-07 it is know on the list so we could apply for permanent residency. so we are just looking at the benefits of both to do the comparison before we make the decision.

any advise / help would be greatly appreciated

many thanks

Guest soggy

Hi im a painter and decorator applied for sir495 just a few days behind you, PR means lower education fees, purchase of property without permission including for investment, you can move anywhere in Australia if you want, $7000 home buyers grant in SA, entitled to benifits after 2 years as PR, no having to go through application for PR in 2 years time, no work restrictions, you can take any job you can get, just a few differences that spring to mind.

Can anyone tell me how many points you need to apply for 136 visa 120 or 125 and could SA sponsorship points count on this type of visa, things were so simple when I had to go for 495 expect I still will, I will have to think about this:D:(:confused:

Simon

Guest soggy
You would need to get 120 points for permanent visa but as you would not be getting sponsored you would not get the 10 points from this :)

Lisa

Thanks for that, I had 105 befor sponsorship, I think being on MODL gives another 15 to make 120, providing I did it before September when we drop to 15 points for English I could go for PR straight away. Just thouht though, I dont no how to go about changing a visa application once they have it, I dont want to wait the extra time it would take to get a 136 visa and I hope never to have to fill in a visa form again, so mabe I will just sit back and relax.:confused::D

Simon

Hi

Thanks for reply, i think we will just stick it out too.