English Test - Has anyone else sat the IELTS ?

Guest The Morleys

Guest The Morleys

Hello,

I am a nurse and have to sit an English Test in order to gain registration with the nursing board of South Australia, Just wondering if anyone else has sat one and can tell me what it was like? I'm a bit worried, I got a B in GCSE english ... but that was a long time ago :confused:.

Thanks

Nina

:wubclub:

hi nina

im also a nurse and had to sit the test in order to gain pm visa. the test is straight forward enough and im sure you want have a problem passing it. however i would advise you to prepare for the test just so you know what to expect. i bought some books over the internet and found they really helped a lot.

tess

its reading, writing speaking and listening. you read some paragraphs then answer some questions on it. you also have to write a short story on a topic which is given to you. you listen to a recording the tape stops then you answer some questions on it. then someone asks you some questions about a topic. the elts book is very good in preparing you for it.

What kind of things do you need to read up on? what kind of test is it ? xx

Guest WoodMartin

I have also sat the IELTS test. As mentioned it was nothing to worry about, however it was very useful to be forewarned so I knew what to expect.

The IELTS website was quite helpful... try this link: http://www.ielts.org/test_takers_information/how_do_i_prepare.aspx

My worst grade was in the speaking part... much to the amusement of friends! Think it was the odd experience of concentrating hard and not speaking bad.... ;-)

Ali

• 3 months later...
Guest cliveost