Help! three years to get skilled visa?

Guest The Conroys

Guest The Conroys

Hi

I'm new to PIA and just starting the process of getting to OZ, my husband is a Joiner and after just calling a migration agent they have told me it will be at least three years to get a visa. We have started getting paperwork together for Vetasses but was wondering if anybody has had the same experience or can give advice:confused:.

Confused

Terri

Guest The Dimmocks
Hi

I'm new to PIA and just starting the process of getting to OZ, my husband is a Joiner and after just calling a migration agent they have told me it will be at least three years to get a visa. We have started getting paperwork together for Vetasses but was wondering if anybody has had the same experience or can give advice:confused:.

Confused

Terri

Hi, Welcome to PIA. My husband is also a joiner. We were granted our visa back in July 09. Alot of changes happened to the processing of visas back in Sept 09 which pushed certain skills (joiner being one) down the processing scale. Lots of people have been affected on here.

Good luck in your journey to getting visa and there are plently of people on here to help along the way with questions.

Michelle

Guest martin77

I know when i applied for my Visa my trade was very much in demand ( Printer). It still took almost 2 years to actually get the visa. I'm not sure if things have changed since then, ours was granted early 08.

The time does go very fast and if im honest, looking back i'm glad it took a long time. Gave us alot of time to really get ourselves and our family ready for the move.

Guest JoTanCalOwen
Hi

Confused

Terri

Hi Terri,

i am afraid that three years is what they are averaging now, my husband and I started the process Jan-Feb last year we were told we could be out there by Aug 2010, then just as our visa was lodged, everything changed, his skill has also moved down the list, it a required skill but not a critical skill, so we too are waiting.