Moving Too Adelaide

Guest Johnniemac

Guest Johnniemac

Hi everyone I have just got news that I have got my regional visa and I hope to be in Adelaide soon. I have a few questions and I'm hoping you guys on here can help me;

1. I am hoping to rent a nice 1 bedroom apartment in Adelaide, do you what sort of documents I would need in order to secure such a placei.e. references, passport, bank statements etc given that I would be new to Adelaide and Australia

2. I would looking for work ideally in a payroll or admin post, what references etc would I need again given I would new to Adelaide and Australia

3. I believe as a UK resident I would qualify for emergency healthcare and would need to register with medicare but I should also take out health and dental insurance. Do you have any idea of the average cost of such insurance?

4. Also do you know if it's possible to open a bank account before I get there to enable me to transfer money into before I leave UK?

Sorry for all the questions but any assistance you can give would be most appreciated.

John

Guest ReadyPenny

Hi

This is a real quickie because I am on my way to work. Rentals usually require all the same info the famous 100 pt ID check ie drivers licence, medicare card, passport etc, so not too difficult. Yes, you register for Medicare immediately that is the Aus version of the NHS (well not quite, it doesnt cover dental) but it does cover doctor hospital etc.

Private health insurance has "extras" packages which include dental, optical, physio, chiro etc . Ours cost $70 per month for a family of 3 but this does not include hospital cover, the amount jumps to over $200 to include this, which would be like having Bupa in UK. It's worth taking out the extras as dental costs are quite expensive here, particularly if you need ongoing treatment.