Our Contingency Plan - ? Working Holiday Visa ?

LaurenG

So, we have been waiting patiently for over a year to put in our visa application. We needed state sponsorship as we are a little short on points for a 175 and following a recce visit we had chosen Victoria to relocate to but they have a 2 year work experience requirement hence the reason for our wait.

Over the year we have also researched the possibility of relocating to Adelaide although we have never visited we really like what we have researched and now South Australia is a strong possibility for us (if they’ll have us) and we have a state sponsorship application in process (when processing reopens.)

I have kept up with all the changes over the year and I am lucky that as a teacher I am still on the new SOL. However I am still worrying over the new points structure – as I know many of you also are – and not knowing if I will still me on the state lists. Aaaaa.

So whilst we wait for any news, I am preparing our contingency plan. And would like your advice, ideas, thoughts, suggestions....

We are fortunate enough to be eligible for working holiday visas. I have been tempted by this option many times before but obviously it is not a solution to the problem but potentially a little step closer.

This option would be by no means ideal because we have a house to sell and a whole life to pack up and leave behind, when all we would have is a very temporary visa which wouldn’t allow us to set down any roots over there. However it gets things moving and we would be able to build up contacts and get some valuable work experience over there whilst we wait. I would only take this option if a permanent visa application was in process at the same time so ideally (if things go the right way) one would run in to the other and we wouldn’t need to return.